主办组织者
合作组织者

 

全球经济的数字化正影响着产品与服务在世界各地被生产、分配、销售的方式。借记卡、信用卡、移动货币等数字化的支付工具广泛流行,各国政府也已发起普及数字支付的官方项目。在新的研究中,Sumit Agarwal与合作者探索了家庭采用数字支付是否以及如何影响他们的消费决策,主要关注2016年印度纸币废止事件引起的消费者向数字支付不同程度的转换。他们发现,在对现金的依赖度回升之前,数字支付的使用量上升,月度支出也有所增加。即使现金可用量恢复,支出仍然维持在较高水平。在此次网络研讨会中,Sumit Agarwal将与Filippo Mezzanotti一起详谈他们的发现和影响。


金融市场发展与经济增长息息相关。中国资本市场在规模、监管、能力和效率方面的发展令人印象深刻。在以电子支付系统为代表的某些方面,中国目前甚至可以在达到全球领先地位。然而,中国的资本市场仍处于发展之中,面临着一般性的和特有的挑战。其他亚洲资本市场面临着甚至更大的发展不均衡问题。某些亚洲发达经济体的资本市场已经获得了享誉全球的声誉和能力,在监管和结构上使得其他资本市场相形见绌。公司和投资者倾向于通过监管和发展差异进行套利,因此,亚洲资本市场的不平衡状况是亚洲地区乃至全球所面临的政策问题。分析亚洲资本市场运行中的正面和负面教训,并由此得出可以进一步改善亚洲资本市场分配效率、金融包容性和预警性的技术改革和应用,警惕可能会引起问题的改革,这可以使从业者、政策制定者和研究人员从中受益,进而极大地促进整体繁荣。

亚洲金融经济研究局(ABFER)和芝加哥大学贝克尔·弗里德曼研究所中国中心(BFI-China),与新加坡国立大学(NUS)商学院、上海高级金融学院(SAIF)、香港中文大学(CUHK)经济系、香港中文大学(深圳)和清华大学五道口金融学院(PBCSF)一同合作,希望通过提供一个线上交流平台,服务于亚洲及其他地区的研究人员、政策制定者和从业人员。

以下所有时间均为北京/新加坡标准时间(GMT + 8)。每次活动开始两天前,我们会将相应的Zoom链接发送给您。


研讨会时间安排

以下每场研讨会持续一个小时(作者展示30分钟,讨论15分钟,参与者问答15分钟)。

Agenda

Thursday, July 1, 2021

10 AM–11 AM

Sumit Agarwal, 新加坡国立大学

Filippo Mezzanotti (点评人),西北大学

Registration

注册

HOSTING ORGANIZERS
COLLABORATING ORGANIZERS 

 

The increasing digitization of the global economy is changing how products and services are produced, distributed, and sold all around the world. Digital payment instruments such as debit cards, credit cards, and mobile money have gained widespread popularity, and several governments have launched official programs to promote digital payments. In new research, Sumit Agarwal and co-authors study whether and how households’ adoption of digital payments affects their spending decisions, using the differential switch to digital payments across consumers induced by the sudden 2016 Indian Demonetization for identification. They find usage of digital payments rose and monthly spending increased prior to cash dependence, and that spending remained elevated even when cash availability recovered. In the next webinar, Agarwal will be joined by  Filippo Mezzanotti for a detailed discussion of their findings and implications.

About the Seminar Series

Financial market development goes hand-in-hand with economic growth. The development of China’s capital markets in terms of size, regulations, capability, and efficiency has been impressive. China may now even lead globally in some dimensions, notably e-payments systems. Yet, China’s capital markets are still a work-in-progress facing both generic and unique challenges. Other Asian capital markets have even greater uneven development. Some in advanced Asian economies have acquired globally acclaimed reputation and capabilities while various regulatory and structural weaknesses dwarf others. Corporations and investors have been inclined to arbitrage cross-border regulatory and developmental gaps; so the very uneven status of capital markets across Asia is a policy issue for the governments in the entire region and perhaps globally. Analyzing the positive and negative lessons in the functioning of Asia’s capital markets, and identifying reforms and applications of technology that could further improve Asian capital markets’ allocation efficiency, financial inclusion, and forewarning against reforms that might cause problems can benefit practitioners, policymakers and researchers, and can contribute significantly to overall prosperity.

The ABFER and the University of Chicago’s Becker Friedman Institute China (BFI-China), in collaboration with National University of Singapore (NUS) Business School, Shanghai Advanced Institute of Finance (SAIF), The Chinese University of Hong Kong (CUHK) Department of Economics, CUHK-Shenzhen and Tsinghua University PBC School of Finance (Tsinghua PBCSF), hope to provide a virtual network to benefit researchers, policymakers, and practitioners from Asia and beyond.

All times are listed in Beijing/Singapore Standard Time (GMT+8). A unique Zoom webinar link will be sent to you two days before the event. 


Session Format

Each session lasts for an hour (30 minutes for the author, 15 minutes for the discussion, 15 minutes for participants’ Q&A).

Agenda

Thursday, July 1, 2021

10 AM–11 AM

Sumit Agarwal, National University of Singapore

Filippo Mezzanotti (Discussant), Northwestern University

Registration

Register